Chairman Pip's Railway Thoughts

Do you want more?

Posted in Great Britain, On the road..., Other general stuff about railways by Chairman Pip on 14 June 2012

Those of you with short memories might be aware that the football season has just finished, and my beloved West Ham won promotion back to the Premier League. You may also remember that, over the course of last season, I kept you informed of my travels around the country, from Burnley in the north to Portsmouth in the south, and Ipswich in the east to Bristol in the west. I know that I enjoyed keeping track of where I went, and how I got there, but I have no idea whether you, dear reader, enjoyed reading the record of my adventures. Well, the fixture list for next season is released on Monday, which will allow me to plan what away trips I will make. Unlike our year in the Championship, where I got to eight grounds that I’d not visited, this coming season will see a division where only two of our 19 opponents are ones I’ve not yet visited, Swansea City and Southampton. That being said, I do plan to go to a significant number of games, both from London and Nottingham, and I would be quite interested in doing another map following my journeys, as well as noting on here all of the rail journeys that I needed to take to get there. But, would you be interested in reading it?

Actually, to be brutally honest, I’m not particularly worried whether you want to read it or not, because as I’ve often said, my blog is my blog, and I’ll write what I want on it. I’ll try my best to make it entertaining, but if you don’t find it so, go figure. There are lots of interesting trips to take next season, hopefully with a good number of interesting rail journeys.

It’s just a shame that I can only do a maximum of eighteen away games – I’d love to get a clean sweep, but the one I will categorically never do is Manchester United. Not because I have any great hatred of Manchester United (though I do), but because I’ve been to Old Trafford once, in 2001, where we won, not a situation that happens particularly often. As a consequence, I have a 100% win record at Old Trafford against Manchester United, and I ain’t jepordising that for anything.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. curvylou said, on 14 June 2012 at 9:04 pm

    I really do enjoy reading about your trips…..I don’t get to do much travelling so it’s nice to see that someone is managing to get and about. Keep up the blogs…..they make me smile. Hope you will be able to make the away match to Norwich….I’ll be very interested in that report!!!!

  2. Al Holmes said, on 15 June 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Definitely enjoy the away trip updates, but as I’m a West Ham supporter as well I might be slightly biased.


Leave a Reply

