Chairman Pip's Railway Thoughts

Railways or Katya Virshilas – you decide

Posted in Dreaming, London, Other general stuff about railways by Chairman Pip on 21 February 2012

It’s becoming a source of bewilderment to me why in the course of my slumber that my subconscious seems continually to fixate on railways rather than focusing on what would be, in the normal course of things, much more pleasant areas to think of. Such as seeing West Ham win the FA Cup, or measuring Katya Virshilas for her Strictly outfits. So it continues (or rather continued), and I shall elucidate precisely where I went this time. I went non-stop, without changing trains, from Woolwich Arsenal to Upminster which, as you should all be well aware, is impossible. What’s more, upon leaving Woolwich Arsenal, the train proceeded through a tunnel that took more than 40 minutes to traverse, which led me to think “there should be a station or two built into this rock formation”. Why I was going from Woolwich to Upminster I’m not entirely certain, but clearly it wasn’t important, as the next I was aware I was on the District Line heading for Barking. Nothing unusual in the you may think, except that it wasn’t the eight stops that it is in the real world, but 25. Further, the route was in a cutting, with a high embankment on either side (neither of these are there). What was that much stranger was the fact that there was another railway line on the embankment, and my train was following the London Overground service from Upminster to Barking, which I could see out of the window, and which I needed to catch to continue my journey. So I got off at Barking (Low Level), and was forced to follow a circuitous route up to the high level platforms, where the c2c trains terminate, so that I could then get down to the platform from which London Overground’s trains depart. All of which should tell you the following:

  • London Overground trains terminate at Barking, and don’t go on to Upminster
  • Barking’s platforms are all at the same level
  • All of the c2c services are through trains, and don’t terminate at Barking

I am somewhat curious as to what my subconscious is trying to tell me, given that I was actually in Nottingham when I was dreaming this, and have had no contact for some time with London Overground, c2c or Barking station. Perhaps it means that I should champion an extension to London Overground’s services as far as Upminster. Or perhaps that I should campaign for Crossrail to be extended from Woolwich back under the river northwards. Or possibly that there should be more trains from Barking to London. Of course, it could just mean that I think too much about railways, and that I should think more about Katya Virshilas.

While dreaming about railways is fun, dreaming about Katya Virshilas is probably more fun

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. curvylou said, on 21 February 2012 at 6:18 pm

    I prefer my dreams…..John Bishop!!! 😉

  2. Claire said, on 21 February 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I think we’re bound to dream about anything we think about a lot. I’m actually surprised you don’t dream about railways more! 😛 Mind you, I haven’t heard you report many WHU-related dreams. I hope you have more railway dreams so you can post about them on here, as I like reading about your dreams.

    Have you edited the title of this entry? because it came into my email with a different title.

    • Chairman Pip said, on 22 February 2012 at 9:16 am

      Yes, because I thought more people would come across it if it had “Katya Virshilas” in the title 😛

  3. Colin McLeod said, on 27 February 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Sad. Not sad that you dream about railways, but sad that you not only feel the need to analyse them, but also that you feel the need to publish your analysis in such a long winded way.

    • Chairman Pip said, on 27 February 2012 at 4:54 pm

      Oh well forgive me for choosing my own editorial policy for my own PERSONAL blog. Well done for following the instruction on the home page to sign up and comment. I will ask the question though that, if you find my attempt to analyse what I’ve dreamt pointless, why have you bothered commenting on it?

      • Colin McLeod said, on 27 February 2012 at 10:46 pm

        I bothered to comment on it to let you know what I thought. I did not say it was pointless. You did after all invite comments. Ocassionally a comment is not in agreement.
        Regards
        And sweet dreams.


Leave a Reply

