Chairman Pip's Railway Thoughts

Victoria Pipe – the face for London’s railways?

Posted in London, Media, Other general stuff about railways by Chairman Pip on 14 October 2011

There are people that disagree, but I personally think that I have a face for radio, and consequently am not presentable enough to be a public face. Hence the reason that you’ll never see my face on any of my web 2.0 outlets. However, looking through Youtube, you come across the darndest things. You may remember my post regarding the final withdrawal of the 1967 Stock fleet from the Victoria Line, which featured two videos – one that I put together using still pictures and a song from a Garfield TV special, and one that featured a young lady reporting on the last 1967 Stock train in service on the last day. I put the video on that post because it was appropriate to the story, and thought no more about it. But last night I was having a gander through Youtube, primarily looking at my own channel, and what should I see? The same young lady on a video about the first S Stock train in service. And on the DLR extension to Stratford International. And hunting for the infamous “ghost train” to Newhaven Marine. It turns out that the young lady is called Victoria Pipe and, according to her profile on Linkedin, she is a Learning Officer at the London Transport Museum (a job that I gave half a thought to applying for when I saw it). Whether the videos she does alongside independent producer Geoff Marshall are part of her actual job, or just a sideline, I don’t know. I do know however that she is either a brilliant actress, or she seems to have a genuine enthusiasm for the railways (I mean, you’d have to have some enthusiasm to traipse all the way to Newhaven on a Friday night looking for a scheduled train that may or may not run), and should be showcased around the world. So I say to the LT Museum “put some of her videos on your website, and make her the enthusiastic face to London’s railways”. Because on top of everything else, it is most definitely NOT a face for radio.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris said, on 16 October 2011 at 1:38 am

    The mastermind behind this is Geoff, ie ‘geofftech’ – a long term LU enthusiast best known for the ‘tube challenge’. His website (http://www.geofftech.co.uk/) gives other examples of what he’s done, which since he’s been back in the UK has involved roping in his lady friend.

    • Chairman Pip said, on 16 October 2011 at 1:49 am

      Ah, but would she agree to do it if she didn’t have enthusiasm for it?

      • Chris said, on 16 October 2011 at 6:23 pm

        I didnt say she wasnt enthusiastic, but Geoff is in a league of his own!

  2. Victoria said, on 24 August 2012 at 11:44 am

    Hello! Just discovered this and thought I’d say thanks for writing a post about me – though it is a little strange being up for discussion! If you’d have asked me a few years ago if I was enthusiastic about trains I would have said a deafening ‘no’. But whilst I try and keep my enthusiasm to a minimum, I can’t help but be caught up in it all. Trains are cool – there is no denying it.


Leave a Reply

