Chairman Pip's Railway Thoughts

If my opinion isn’t valued, I’ll just go then

Posted in Ireland, Other general stuff about railways by Chairman Pip on 15 September 2010

I’ve been contributing to the Save the Rail Facebook page with thoughts, sometimes directly, and sometimes by linking posts I’ve made here and, on the whole, it seems to have been appreciated (or at least tolerated). When I put this up, I got some good feedback from individuals, while explaining that it was simply my idea for what an expansionist rail policy could look like and achieve. But, it also provoked an unexpectedly vehement, bordering on aggressive response, from this individual:

Keep the expansion in the urban areas of Dublin/Cork/Limerick, maintain the InterCity, use the success of those as a lever. This is crayonism, it is fantasy with no basis in reality.

Obviously I know that it has no basis in reality, as I’ve spent a lot of time studying the contraction of the railway network, which I explained, at the same time as saying it was what I thought SHOULD be done. What I wasn’t expecting was the response to this:

It should have a basis in reality, otherwise it cannot be done. How many lines have opened since the 1960’s? 4 reopenings, and then doing utter bullshit like railways through Donegal from Sligo. Get real for Christs sake. And if you don’t like what I say, or how I say it, then you cannot handle the truth.

This to me is not constructive criticism or feedback. It is the aggression of the outsider who sees something, wants to take it over and push an independent agenda. I will make this point – if the expansion of the network is limited to the major urban areas, then what was the point of the campaign to keep Waterford-Rosslare open? And why was it felt necessary to re-open the Western Rail Corridor? Indeed, the re-opening of the WRC has been deemed a success, and not just by Iarnród Éireann; the West on Track group has also declared itself pleased with the success of the route, while the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) is cautiously optimistic about the benefits it will bring to the region. Would Save the Rail be so adamant about this line and its potential without something to compare it to? Rail expansion and development leads to economic development, so is it not too much of a leap of thought to suggest that building a new railway route from Sligo into Donegal might be a good thing for the north-west? Last word from our aggressor:

The dreams of trainspotters degenerates into failure yet again. The only one to be taken seriously was Tanya. Proof, sadly, if it were ever needed, that empty vessels make the most noise. Shame……

Clearly then the South-East Regional Authority, the South East Chambers of Commerce, the individual county councils in the area and Rail Users Ireland are all simply a bunch of trainspotters for wanting to keep the Waterford-Rosslare open. Do you want to tell them that? Oh, and by the way, I can handle the truth. Perhaps you can’t when I say that this is not about truth – it is about opinion. And we’re all entitled to our own.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] If my opinion isn't valued, I'll just go then « Chairman Pip's … […]

  2. Make To Pips said, on 15 September 2010 at 3:24 pm

    […] If my opinion isn't valued, I'll just go then « Chairman Pip's … It is the aggression of the outsider who sees something, wants to take it over and push an independent agenda. I will make this point – if the expansion of the network is limited to the major urban areas, then what was the point of the . […]


Leave a Reply

